Taino is Nominated for UNPFII Membership 2008-2010

New York, NY (UCTP News) - The Secretariat for the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII) has received over 35 nominations from indigenous organizations for UNPFII membership for the period 2008-2010. The deadline for nominations was 1 February 2007 deadline.

New UNPFII members will be appointed by the President of ECOSOC towards the end of April 2007. Further information will be posted at the Forum's web page as it becomes available.

Nominations for UNPFII members for Central and South America and the Caribbean include Mr. Roberto Mucaro BORRERO (Taino), President and Chairman of the United Confederation of Taino People. Support for Mr. Borrero’s nomination was received from indigenous organizations from Puerto Rico, Dominica, Barbados, Venezuela, the Dominican Republic, and the United States.

The Permanent Forum is comprised of sixteen independent experts, functioning in their personal capacity, who serve for a term of three years as Members and may be re-elected or re-appointed for one additional term.

Eight of the Members are nominated by governments and eight are nominated directly by indigenous organizations in their regions.

No comments: