Taino Recognize Their Own In NYC

Roberto Borrero and members of Iukaieke Guainia at the Taino Awards

New York, New York (UCTP Taino News) -
A diverse group of Taino community members gathered on Saturday, 24 April to support the second annual “Taino awards.” The event was held at the Nuyorican Poets Café and it was presented by the KuKarey Spiritual Circle and Yamocuno Tanama Yucayeke Taino organizations.

Hosted by Caridad "Kachianao" de la Luz, the awards celebrated individuals “who unselfishly give of themselves everyday to the Taino community.” The awards recognized educators, artists, humanitarians, youth, elders and other community members.

The 2010 award recipients included Vanessa Inarunikia Pastrana, Roman Perez, Carlos Rivera, Jose Munoz Vazquez, Mildred Cruz, Miguel Sobaoko Koromo Sague, Enrique Correa, Casa Atabex Ache, Edwin Cedeno, Taino Almestica, Francisco Baerga, Luis Ramos, Joe Kaonabo Garcia, Dalia Viera, and Roberto Mukaro Agueibana Borrero.

UCTPTN 04.27.2010

1 comment:

Medina said...

Congratulations to all award recipients. I see quite a few names I recognize and many more I cant wait to get to know better~m